From Humble Beginnings

As I’m planning to do some game development, I thought I may as well explain my motivations and talk about my favourite games.

(I realised when I started planning this that I have a lot to talk about on this subject so I’m going to split it up into a few posts)

I may as well start with my favourite console: the Nintendo64. Simply put, the N64 was my childhood. Mine has long stood the test of time and still has pride of place next to my TV.  I could gush about the N64 for hours (and probably will do at some point in the not-so-distant future). A sample of my cartridge collection can be seen at the top of this post.

If you’re asking me (and you’re reading this so I’ll assume you are), Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time is the best game ever made. While its graphics may not match up to the visual prowess of today’s bleeding edge PC games, its gameplay is unrivaled, even to this day. Never before (or since?) has such a rich and immersive world been created;  I probably know my way around Hyrule better than I know my hometown. All the characters are detailed and have their own backstories and react differently under different circumstances (though admittedly, this is more apparent in Majora’s Mask).

It is probably the best designed game I know of, I almost bought a 3DS just so I could play Ocarina of Time (a friend got one and I was insanely jealous). This is the kind of game I will forever aspire to create, not WoW or Crysis, good old (14 years old in fact) Ocarina of Time. Games today have too much focus on graphics compared to gameplay, I don’t blame them, the game industry is an industry, it’s consumer driven and people like shiny things.

That’s one of the best things about starting as a game developer, I don’t have the programming knowledge to make super-mega-shiny-awesome graphics, but it doesn’t take a lot of technical know-how to make a game fun, and that’s what I’m going to focus on.

