Vital Statistics

Being the geek that I am, I spend a lot of time on my computer. And as my readers are quite possibly of a similar ilk, I figured they might also be interested in my computer. I built my own computer without much of a budget (I’d been saving for years) and therefore ended up spending about £800 (over a year ago).

I’m dualbooting Windows 7 and Ubuntu Oneiric Ocelot (I might upgrade to Precise Pangolin when it’s released). At one point I was triple booting with Fedora, but lets just not even go there (technically I still have Fedora, though in some crippled and mutilated form. It’s still taking up a third of my hard drive, but I daren’t go near it any more because Windows is so fragile. I’ll probably pluck up the courage to ‘fix it’ someday and then blog about it from my phone because Windows will be irrevocably lost.)

I wasn’t sure how much detail to go into here, so I just copied this from Computer>Properties and wrote the rest from memory. I suppose there’s a much easier and more detailed way to do this in Linux, but I’m already in Windows and in the middle of a ridiculously long download, so Windows it is.

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2500K CPU @ 3.30GHz 3.30GHz
(I suppose I could overclock this)
RAM: 8.00GB 😀
Graphics Card: Nvidia GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB
Hard Drive: 1.5 TB
DVD Writer
Monitor: 22″ HDTV
Also, I have those fans up there, and yes, they really do look that awesome.

Let me know if I missed out any other stats or if you have any questions about how I built my PC.

