Nostalgia – it just isn’t what it used to be

You may just think this is a meaningless pun, but I genuinely believe it to be true. A book by my favourite author Jasper Fforde covered this topic particularly well. Simply put, the world is getting less patient. The Now is getting shorter.

There are several contributing factors to this, and the one I’m about to talk about may surprise you: The Internet.

(I realise this next statement will age me 50 years)
When I was growing up, we didn’t have the internet, and when we eventually got it, it took about a minute to connect and you couldn’t use the phone at the same time.

Kids these days have grown up with instant access to information, so they don’t know what it is to wait and therefore have a much shorter attention span.

On a completely unrelated note while I’m getting nostalgic, I honestly can’t remember the last time I received a letter (other than a bill or people asking me to donate blood)

Getting back on topic, I’d seriously advise against replaying your favourite childhood games, in your mind they have great graphics and gameplay, just let it stay that way.

