SS 03: TileTest

Today I experimented with isometric tiles. They were a lot easier to implement than I first thought.

As usual, the source code is available from my Github

Before doing this, I was unsure about using isometric tiling, it seemed nigh impossible in my mind compared to simple top-down 2D, but now I feel a lot better about it. I still expect there to be a few hiccups later when I develop my game, but for now I’m just glad that I’ve achieved something.

The blue tiles are randomly generated just after the map is initialised and the red dot is the player, who can move along the vertices and through the centre of the faces of the tiles.

Things still to include:

  • more sophisticated collision detection
  • generation of different shaped maps

OUTTAKE:
This is what happened when I moved the code to randomly generate blue tiles into the ‘running loop’

Click to animate

(I don’t know why the quality is so bad)

