Batman: Arkham Asylum Review

Before I start, there’s a few things I’d like to point out. I’m not particularly a Batman fanboy, I like the films, but I’ve never been into the comics ahem, graphic novels. I’d also like to state that I’m not going to get into the debate about whether or not Batman is a real superhero.

Now that’s all out of the way it’s time to get cracking with the review.

The first thing I noticed is the style of the game, it’s quite realistic, but still with quite a graphic edge to keep to its comic origins. I love the style of the Joker in particular, not that I like the Heath Ledger interpretation of the Joker, I just think this graphic style is more suited to a game based on comic characters. One of the other things I like about the Joker are his announcements, which brings me onto the quality of the voice acting … errr … it’s good.

Much like the guy in that xkcd comic, I play games on a few year lag (it’s also scary how accurate that last panel is). So I’m gradually increasingly impressed with the graphics in game, but these graphics really stand out for me. The detail that has gone into every single model, from the lunatics to the humblest of flowers, is astonishing, and everything manages to go with the overall style of the game.

The best part of Arkham Asylum by far is the combat. Words cannot describe how awesome the combat is, from the fluidity of the combos to the satisfying sound of breaking your opponents neck.

Batvision was also pretty cool, I’ve never seen anything like that in a game and it worked perfectly even in combat. It was essential for stealth missions and I just liked to use it every now and then because it was just plain cool.

The challenges added something extra to the game and are good if you want to compete with friends. The best part of the brawl challenges is it’s not boring to watch when it’s other people’s turn, because who wouldn’t want to see Batman soaring through the air like an eagle piloting a blimp?

Overall Arkham Asylum is a fantastic game with some of the best combat I’ve ever played and I’m looking forward to playing Arkham City.

