SS 05: Open Source

I’m really busy this weekend, so I haven’t got time to come up with any interesting code. I’ll still be talking about Software Development though, and I’ll be talking about an issue that has been plaguing me for a long time.

I love open source software and I love the open source philosophy, pretty much all software I use is open source. I’d love to be able to say that I’ll only ever release open source software, but I just feel like I can’t make that promise. The biggest obstacle in my way is money. I don’t plan on making billions, but I need money to survive on and I don’t think donations would cover that (and I’m not a charity case).

In the years to come I’d like to be able to sell a few video games, and as far as I know (please correct me if I’m wrong), there’s no plausible way to make money from a game if you release the source code. I feel like if I was just an open souce developer, I’d have to get ‘a real job’ to sustain me and game development would be put on the back burner (I think this is inevitably what is going to happen anyway, but a guy can dream, right?)

Please comment if you have any insight on this 🙂

