Game Artist Portfolio

I was looking over my Art page a few days ago and for the first time ever, I’m actually quite happy with some of the things I’ve produced.

That being said, I still don’t really think I’d be comfortable showing any of my work so far (except for maybe one or two) to a possible employer; so in summer, I’m going to work on creating a portfolio.

There’s just one problem, I’ve never made a portfolio. Luckily right at that moment, an unconscious Argentinian fell through my roof. He was quickly joined by a dwarf dressed as a nun.

Obviously, the type of portfolio I create will depend heavily on the type of job I go for, but to start with I’d like a general all-rounder game artist portfolio. I think building this kind of skill set would be useful for when I build my own small indie games.

Here are some things that I would think to include:

  • Original character concepts
  • Armour and weapon designs
  • Landscapes
  • Architecture
  • Animals and original creatures
  • Vehicles

(in both 2D and 3D)

Please comment below if there’s anything else I should include, anything I should know about creating a portfolio, or just your personal experience 🙂

