End procrastination with Post-its

Over the weekend I developed a new time management system. In the simplest terms, it consists of writing eaching each task on a post-it and sticking it to a wall.

Each task should be simple and specific (it shouldn’t seem too daunting) eg Make notes on Finite State Automata, not just REVISE.

Pick one task from the wall and get it done, only pick another task after you’ve completed the current one.

Once the task is complete, feel free to scrunch up the post-it, rip it, burn it, dip it in acid, whatever.

At first I had about fifty tasks on the wall, which may seem overwhelming, but once you get started, you see how easy it is to get through them. I currently have 14 post-its on my wall, but I’ll probably have less than 10 by the end of the day.

I’ll probably refine my system over time, eg. prioritising tasks by their position on the wall or putting them in some form of queue.

This has been surprisingly productive for me, let me know in the comments if you have any ways you avoid procrastination.

