How I record HD video

Today I’ve been trying to help a friend set up some video recording software, so I thought I’d post about how I record the HD video for my speedpaints.

I use CamStudio which is a free software that works better than any proprietary software I’ve tried (including Camtasia).

Here are my video settings:

And here is what is shown when you click Configure:

As you can see I use the Xvid codec which can be easily found with a quick google.

Here are a few examples of videos that were created with these settings:


The filesize of my videos tends to be about 2MB per minute, which I’m perfectly happy with.

DISCAIMER: I’m not saying these setting will work perfectly for everyone, but they work for me, so they might work for you. Experiment to see what works best for you.

