Bit.Trip Runner

Finally I’m reviewing a game that doesn’t really have a storyline so I don’t have to worry about spoilers. I bought Bit.Trip Runner as part of the Humble Indie Bundle a while back (which will be the subject of it’s own point at some point in the future).

Bit.Trip Runner is possibly the single most addictive game I’ve ever played. I often find that it’s the simplest games that are the most infuriating addictive.

It’s hard to define this game, the best I can come up with is ‘a retro musical sidescrolling obstacle course’. The aim of the game is to make it past an assortment of obstacles to the end of the level, collecting gold along the way. Each level has a different beat which affects when the player needs to evade obstacles. It’s not easy to explain so here’s a video playthrough.

I couldn’t write this post without mentioning the penultimate level in the first world. Aptly dubbed ‘The Odyssey”, this is the longest level in the game. I’m not proud of the amount of time it took for my flatmate or I to complete this level (I’m especially not proud of the fact that it was him who completed it and not me).

Bit.Trip Runner is an addictive little indie game with a charmingly simple blocky graphic style and a hauntingly upbeat soundtrack (seriously, I’ve had dreams which sounded like The Odyssey). Overall I’d give it 7/10.

