Super Meat Boy

Super Meat boy is another incredible indie game I bought as part of a Humble Indie Bundle (which I’ll be writing about next week).

Super Meat Boy is another of those simple but devilishly addictive games. “Super Meat Boy is a game where you play as a boy without skin whose girlfriend who is made of bandages gets kidnapped by a fetus in a tuxedo wearing a top hat and a monocle.” – taken from the Official Super Meat Boy website; I think that pretty much sums it up.

The first thing I love about Super Meat Boy is that it’s delightfully gory. The squelchy footsteps and toony blood is somehow charming, I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a bloodsoaked, yet lighthearted, game.

However my favourite part of this game, above everything else, is the replay. When you complete a level, there’s a replay that shows all your failed attempts simultaneously and it just looks incredible. I often die a few times on purpose just to make the replay look more awesome.

There’s just so much content, over 300 levels, retro levels, boss fights and even extra playable characters (including Commander Video from Bit.Trip Runner). Best of all, the later levels are actually challenging, but they never feel impossible, which encourages you to keep on trying, increasing the sense of accomplishment when you finally complete the level.

I’m really looking forward to seeing Indie Game the Movie as I’ve heard that it follows Team Meat, the creators of Super Meat Boy, on their game development journey.

Overall I’d give Super Meat Boy 8.5/10.

