N64 Portable

Nothing really caught my eye in the technology world this week (apart from the possible discovery of a Higgs Boson). So I thought I’d write about something dear to me: Nintendo 64s. Portable N64s to be precise.

Here’s what I mean:

There are few things I would enjoy more than reliving my childhood by playing N64 games in the car, on the train or at Uni (who incidentally told me I passed the first year today).

I even tried making one myself a few years ago, but I just didn’t have the knowledge or skill to complete it (my soldering skills leave a lot to be desired). I still have all the pieces so I can pick it up again when I know what I’m doing. I’d also like to point out that I ought an extra console for this in case something went horribly wrong, so I still have my original N64.

A modder called Bacteria has acquired a certain level of internet fame amongst the modding community for his portable console creations. He has even made a set of video tutorials detailing how he makes his portable N64s.

I’d recommend you check him out, he’s very skilled.

Did you have a favourite console as a child and do you wish you could have a portable version of it nowadays?

