Biting the Bullet

So I’m finally biting the bullet and using a game library to help writing my game.

I’ve been avoiding this for many reasons. I like writing things from scratch and I learn better by figuring things out for myself. I kinda feel like using other people’s code is cheating and that people won’t take me seriously if i don’t write everything myself, and even though I know that’s ridiculous, I can’t shake it.

At the end of the day however, I think I’ve learned almost as much as I can writing the engine from scratch and I’ve hit a wall. Using a game library will help me develop the game faster, with less bugs and ultimately to a higher quality.

Yeah … that would be the post I’d write if I didn’t keep getting this error:

Exception in thread “main” java.lang.UnsatisfiedLinkError: C:\Users\Sam\Documents\Workspaces\Slick\lib\windows\lwjgl.dll: Can’t load IA 32-bit .dll on a AMD 64-bit platform
at java.lang.ClassLoader$NativeLibrary.load(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary1(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.Runtime.loadLibrary0(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.System.loadLibrary(Unknown Source)
at org.lwjgl.Sys$1.run(Sys.java:75)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.doLoadLibrary(Sys.java:68)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.loadLibrary(Sys.java:84)
at org.lwjgl.Sys.<clinit>(Sys.java:101)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.<clinit>(Display.java:128)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer$1.run(AppGameContainer.java:39)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppGameContainer.<clinit>(AppGameContainer.java:36)
at SimpleTest.main(SimpleTest.java:29)

If anyone knows how to solve this, please let me know asap 🙂 Otherwise I’m going to have to go back to the patchwork code I had before.

I’m trying to look on the bright side, but it’s getting harder and harder when every time I sit down to code, nothing works.

